Siege 1

 

Late 80’s. 

 

It was after my morning coffee and before the morning tea break on a quiet Sunday morning.  You know, some one told me very early in the piece that nothing ever happened on Sundays. 

(more…)

Published in: on 21 November, 2009 at 5:42 pm  Leave a Comment  

Breath of Life Part 2

 After the part time death of the junkie at the doss house, I increased my efforts to find whoever was killing off these druggies.  My experience was that Rumanian dealers get a bit of a kick out of giving near pure heroin to druggies just for the hell of killing some of them off.  They found it amusing but practically no one else did.  So that’s what I thought we were up against.

  (more…)

Published in: on 21 November, 2009 at 4:03 pm  Leave a Comment  

Millie and the mad woman

 

Early 80’s. I was with one of my favourite mates to work with, he was happy, knowledgeable, a bit reckless but really cared.  He eventually went mad from it but that’s another story.  Anyway we got called to the hospital to get briefed by a doctor wanting to bring in a psych patient who hadn’t been taking her medication.  He had all the forms signed, a syringe of drugs and the family on side.  It was going to be easy he said. Why did he bring the drugs and what does he want us for if it was going to be easy I thought to myself.  My mate was driving (no one ever  liked me driving, ever  throughout my whole career) and the Doc was in the front.  We parked near the patient’s house and were around the back.  Force of habit.  I saw there were 8 or ten stairs from the level of the backyard to the kitchen and there was no handrail on the stairs.  It was a council house not particularly untidy, not overly neat.

(more…)

Published in: on 21 November, 2009 at 3:40 pm  Leave a Comment